Hampton Roads Planning District CommissionHRPDCVA

Water Resources

Water Supply Planning

Cover image of the Hamtpon Roads Regional Water Supply Plan

The Hampton Roads Regional Water Supply Plan includes the cities of Chesapeake, Franklin, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, and Williamsburg, the counties of Gloucester, Isle of Wight, James City, Southampton, Surry, and York, and the towns of Boykins, Branchville, Capron, Claremont, Courtland, Dendron, Ivor, Newsoms, Smithfield, Surry, and Windsor.

The Hampton Roads Regional Water Supply Plan was originally approved by the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality on November 15, 2013. The update of the Plan was approved in 2021. The Plan was prepared pursuant to the State Water Control Law Section 62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.38:1 of the Code of Virginia and the State Water Control Board implementing regulations, 9 VAC 25-780, which establishes the planning process and criteria that local governments must use in the development of local or regional water supply plans.

DEQ Water Supply Planning Program

DEQ Drought Monitoring



Home » Departments » Water Resources » Drinking Water » Water Supply Planning